MY TYPE OF SHAKESPEARE: Always Never Yours Review

Summary: While she may be the star of Stillmont High School’s upcoming production of Romeo and Juliet, Megan Harper has never been the star of her own love story. Every guy she’s dated ends up with him falling in love with someone else. Instead of feeling sorry for herself, Megan focuses on her dream of being a director and getting through her college application acting requirement. What’s not her dream? Starring as Juliet, especially when she’s used to be upstaged. In fact, with her mom in Texas and dad moving on to baby #2 with his new wife, Megan is pretty used to her exes and her family moving on without her. Then she meets Owen Okita, an aspiring playwright who’s inspired by Rosaline from R+J and more similiar to Megan that she may realize.

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

IMG_6494.jpg

My Thoughts:

I, Haley of Fangirl Fury, reader and English major, am here to admit that I am not a huge Shakespeare fan. I’ve only read three of his plays, one of which was of course Romeo and Juliet. While  I’m not the biggest fan of Romeo and Juliet itself, I can now say I am a fan of Emily Wibberly and Austin Siegemund-Broka’s Always Never Yours. This book is perfect for fans of Jenn Bennett and Morgan Matson. Always Never Yours was the fluffy, heart-warming read that my soul needed after reading quite a few fantasy reads this fall.

As expected from the summary, Always Never Yours is a lot about Megan and romance. Megan was definitely a nice change from most YA contemporary protagonists, thanks to her strong, unapologetic personality and  self-confidence. Her love for directing instead of acting was pretty unique too.  I really liked getting to explore her relationships and feelings, especially with Owen by her side. While there is a focus on relationships, Always Never Yours is a lot about self-love. Just because Megan seems strong on the outside and says things don’t bother her too much (like one of her exes dating her best friend), she can understandingly not be so strong on the inside.

Outside of Megan’s relationships, I really liked Always Never Yours for its focus on friendship, family, and of course, theatre. Megan has a really strong support network between Anthony, Madeleine and Owen. We also get to explore her friends’ own relationship troubles. They each experience a sufficient amount of character development. I really liked getting to know Megan’s family. And of course let’s not forget the main setting: Romeo and Juliet! It was so much seeing the production come together by the end of the novel, and I completely loved Megan’s sarcastic take on Juliet. Definitely my favorite R+J/Shakespeare-themed novel ever!

Overall, I enjoyed Always Never Yours for having a strong protagonist and funny, yet heartwarming story that I flew through in a day! I’m highly anticipating Emily and Austin’s next novel, If I’m Being Honest (which like, Always Never Yours, has a GORGEOUS cover).

 Have you read Always Never Yours? Is If I’m Being Honest on your TBR? Share in the comments!

One thought on “MY TYPE OF SHAKESPEARE: Always Never Yours Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s