To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Character Book Recomendations

One of the best fangirlish things that happened in 2018 (AKA EVER) was Neftlix’s adaptation of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. As many of you know, Lara Jean is one of my all-time favorite characters. This trilogy holds a special place in my heart, being one out of three sisters like Lara Jean and the Song Covey girls. Like many, I was beyond impressed with its film adaptation, and I’m not-so patiently waiting for that sequel. Hellloooo Jon Ambrose McClaren.

In honor of all the TATBILB love this year, I’ll be sharing YA book recommendations based off some of the main characters from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

IMG_E6345

newfireborder

Lara Jean: Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Almost any contemporary book would suit Lara Jean, but I think she could especially relate to experiencing first love — and getting to eat lots of sweet treats. Our main characters, Ren and Lina, share a lot of humor and heart-warming moments that are similarly found in TATBILB.

Peter Kavinsky: The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas

Peter K. needs some sort of sports tie-in, right? Well how about the mysterious deaths of five cheerleaders? Kara Thomas’s The Cheerleaders is the type of book that even Peter K. and his lax bros wouldn’t be able to put down. The book follows Monica, who just can’t let go the deaths of her sister and her fellow friends because she knows that even five years later, some things still don’t make sense.

IMG_6553IMG_5900

Margot: City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

Even mature & sophisticated Margot would love this middle-grade taking place in her college town of Edinburgh! Between its Harry Potter references and ghostly companions, City of Ghosts is a very atmospheric read that takes readers along Cassie and Jacob’s Scottish adventure. I could see Margot sharing this one with Kitty.

Kitty: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon 

A sassy and witty Kitty calls for a book that stars a similar protagonist: Sandhya Menon’s When Dimple Met Rishi. Like Dimple, I could so see Kitty throw an iced coffee in a guy’s face. This well-deserving of the hype book follows Dimple and Rishi, who have been set up by their parents at a summer app development camp.

Dr.Covey: American Panda by Gloria Chao

Dr. Covey would probably love to read about Mei’s track to become a doctor at MIT. If you’re looking for more Asian American rep after reading or watching TATBILB, American Panda is the one for you. The book follows Mei’s life as a college freshman, whose parents still keep close eyes on her and will likely not approve of her crush on decidedly-not Taiwanese Darren.

Chris: The Accidental Bad Girl by Maxine Kaplan

I wouldn’t call Chris a bad girl, but I think she could be close friends with The Accidental Bad Girl’s turned-into-a-rebel main character, Kendall. Chris would even get Lara Jean into this fast-paced mystery with kickbutt female characters.

John Ambrose McClaren: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Sweet boys like Jon Ambrose McClaren call for books that also feature sweet boys, like Reid from The Upside of Unrequited. John and Lara would bond over Molly’s love for baking, and anyone who loves TATBILB before will swoon over Reid and his relationship with Molly.

newfireborder

I’m so excited to keep doing book recommendations based off my favorite fangirl things, and here’s to hoping for an adaptation of P.S. I Still Love You!

Have you read any of the books above? Share in the comments!

Thrills & Homework: Fall Reading Recommendations

Autumn calls for plenty of sweaters, pumpkin-spice treats, and ALL the books, as always. As many of you know, I’m a huge mood reader. However, when it comes my reading choices this season, I especially look for books that fall under three “categories”- thriller, mystery, and school. Today I’m going to be sharing my fall reading recs based on these categories, as well as some books that fall vibes on my TBR.

fallreadingrec.jpg

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis – A book that I read last fall, Mindy McGinnis’ The Female of the Species is an important YA read with dark, mystery vibes. The book provides much discussion on rape culture between its three teenage protagonists, especially Alex, who has revenge on her mind.

Finding Felicity by Stacey Kade – Readers who have just started school again themselves will appreciate this contemporary about college freshman Caroline and her love for the ‘90s TV show, Felicity. Finding Felicity honestly captures what it can be like adjusting to college and may inspire you to join a club or two at your own school.

Sadie by Courtney Summers –  The most talked about thriller of the season, Sadie deserves all the hype and more. Courtney Summers’ latest release is full of suspense and darkness, as title character Sadie will stop at nothing to avenge her sister’s death. I think readers who love Sadie or The Female of the Species and haven’t read the other will love both books.

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo – Jill Santopolo’s was a huge adult contemporary hit last year. Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Cecelia Ahern will really enjoy this book following college sweethearts Gabe and Lucy and their lives with and without each other. This book is a cozy read that will have you reaching for your favorite blanket and some hot chocolate (or pumpkin-spice drink of your choice).

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter – Krysten Ritter’s Bonfire was an unexpected favorite of 2017, but oh was I so obsessed with this mystery. Its story is complex and fast-paced, the perfect read for a rainy day.

The Thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle– Again following my back to school vibes (not to mention that the cover’s color scheme screams fall aesthetic to me), The Thing with Feathers begins at the start of a school year. This is the first book that I’ve read with an epileptic protagonist, and while it wasn’t my favorite, I enjoyed The Thing With Feathers for its focus on family and yes, Emilie’s dog is included in that.

Fall-ish TBR Books

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White – Everyone needs a good Halloween read. I’ve seen really positive reviews about this new, dark historical fiction read, and I’m excited to read my first book written by Kiersten White.

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden – After loving Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale, I am more than ready for her eerie middle grade tale.

The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas- I am determined to read a Kara Thomas book SOON, and while this author is known for all of her thrillers, I’m most intrigued by The Cheerleaders. I think this might be a book that keeps me up well into the night.

What are some of your fall reading recs? Any of the above? Share in the comments!

Escaping the Hype: How to Find Non-Blog Book Recommendations

Many of us readers obviously turn to book blogs and Booktube for book recommendations- and sometimes the best cookie or cake recipe. It’s a known fact that we need the most sugary best form of energy for reading.

But whether its for review purposes, blog tours, sponsorships, etc., sometimes the same books are being hyped up and discussed across the various book communities. I myself  am also guilty of this—hyped books are often hyped for VERY good reasons—and I often find myself wanting to read books that maybe aren’t taking over social media feeds.

Today, I’m going to discussing how you can find book recommendations outside of the book blog sphere. I use these resources myself and I hope that they can also help you in your TBR adventures.

newfireborder

It’s in the blurbs. A book’s cover art can be oh-so gorgeous and distracting. But take a step back and look at the blurbs on the dust jacket, especially if you’re enjoying you read a lot. Often, these authors’ own work is similar to the title you’re reading. It’s a great way to discover new authors, and it’s also really fun to see authors that you know and love have such kind words to say about your current read! Besides its college YA vibes, one of the reasons why I’m excited to pick up Mary H.K. Choi’s Emergency Contact is because of Rainbow Rowell’s blurb!

Check out book publications, magazines, and websites. They’ll often provide the latest releases in a variety of age categories and genres, and they tend to highlight backlist titles. Your local library also may have printed magazines, like Book Page. My favorites include:

Take a trip to the bookstore or library. This is me giving you permission to break your book-buying ban, as well as encouraging you to support your local library. If you’re in need of some TBR inspiration, I recommend going to either book haven with no books in mind.

Just explore the shelves and pick up whatever peaks your interest. If you’re tentative about buying a book that you have no idea what it’s about, I recommend going to the library and checking it out. And if you love that book and it becomes a favorite, you could always then go buy your own copy! I’ve done this with many of the books on my shelves at home.

IMG_0552

I can name at least 10 books on these shelves that I originally borrowed from the library and then bought my own copy.

See what books your favorite authors are talking about on social media. I love following authors on social media, especially on Twitter, to stay up to date on their own work and to see what books they’re excited about! I remember picking up The Mothers because I saw Nina LaCour and Rainbow Rowell reading it, and I don’t know if I would’ve discovered Monica Hesse’s books without Ruta Sepetys!

newfireborder

Where do you look for book recommendations?  Share in the comments!