COZY SUMMER READ: The Kindred Spirits Supper Club Review

Summary (from the publisher): Jobless and forced home to Wisconsin, journalist Sabrina Monroe can kstolerate reunions with frenemies and kisses from old boyfriends, but not the literal ghosts that greet her in this heartwarming tale of the power of love and connection from acclaimed author Amy E. Reichert.

For Sabrina Monroe, moving back home to the Wisconsin Dells–the self-described Waterpark Capital of the World–means returning to the Monroe family curse: the women in her family can see spirits who come to them for help with unfinished business. But Sabrina’s always redirected the needy spirits to her mom, who’s much better suited for the job. The one exception has always been Molly, a bubbly rom-com loving ghost, who stuck by Sabrina’s side all through her lonely childhood.

Her personal life starts looking up when Ray, the new local restaurateur, invites Sabrina to his supper club, where he flirts with her over his famous Brandy Old-Fashioneds. He’s charming and handsome, but Sabrina tells herself she doesn’t have time for romance–she needs to focus on finding a job. Except the longer she’s in the Dells, the harder it is to resist her feelings for Ray. Who can turn down a cute guy with a fondness for rescue dogs and an obsession with perfecting his fried cheese curds recipe?

When the Dells starts to feel like home for the first time and with Ray in her corner, Sabrina begins to realize that she can make a difference and help others wherever she is.

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

My Thoughts:

I recently had been reading many ‘beachy’ books (aka Elin Hilderbrand) and fantasy with my Carry On reread and found myself craving a contemporary romance, leading me to Amy E. Reichert’s 2021 release, The Kindred Spirits Supper Club. I know I’m going to have to dive into her backlist now because I absolutely loved this one!

The book follows Sabrina, whose recently moved back to her Wisconsin Dells hometown after losing her journalist job & is basically forced to work for the mean girl from high school while she figures out her next step. Sabrina was always bullied growing up for her rumored ability to see ghosts… which is actually true as Sabrina and her mom help the recently deceased with their final wishes. Enter Ray, a new local restaurateur of an up-&-coming supper club who has fallen head over heels for Sabrina and convinces her to help him plan an event he needs to go perfectly in order to keep the restaurant. 

The Kindred Spirits Supper Club is perfect for fans of Sarah Hogle and Colleen Oakley (especially if you just read & loved The Invisible Husband of Frick Island). The book has this quietness and charm that reminded me so much of those authors’ books, as The Kindred Spirits Supper Club is both character and relationship driven. The book alternates between Sabrina and Ray’s third person POVs, and I couldn’t help but love both of their storylines. Both are all about trying to figure out their next steps career wise, but can’t help but feel called to stay in the small town…and with each other. Sabrina is on the shy & quiet side, again as being bullied for her ability to see ghosts growing up, but Ray brings out a more open side of her while respecting her quieter side. I loved seeing their relationship grow and how the ghost subplot(s) intertwined.

I totally admit that I was a little hesitant going into this one because of the ghost/seeing ghost storyline but it just added to the story’s charm, and I love the way Ray and Sabrina came together because of it. I’ve also never been to Wisconsin or a supper club (let alone heard of one) before reading this book, but I love how Amy E. Reichert puts the reader right into this setting (with plenty of mentions of cheese, of course). 

Overall, The Kindred Spirits Supper Club is such a cute & cozy contemporary romance perfect for summer reading! I’m definitely going to check out Amy E. Reichert’s other books & I can’t wait to see what she comes out with next!

Have you read The Kindred Spirits Supper Club? What contemporary romances have you been loving lately? Share in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s