ARE THERE MORE THAN 19?: 19 Favorite 2019 Reads

2019, you were filled with so many books- 125 books as of today to be exact. Having read so many great reads this year, it was really hard to narrow down my favorites. The first draft of this post originally had over 40 books,! I decided to be on trend and narrow it down to my top 19 favorite books.

I read the most books in a year that I ever had in 2019. A lot of this was in thanks to my summer reading, basically reading (and yes, watching Netflix) during any free time that I had in between working two summer jobs and catching up with my best friends. While my school life was supremely busy both in the spring and fall, I’m very content with the fact that I was able to read at least four books each month- sometimes five to seven depending on how many papers I procrastinated on. In between the holidays, work, and Netflix, I’ve also spent time eating up some romantic contemporaries this December as well.

Despite the amount of books I’ve read, and the amount of favorites & honorable mentions on this list, I feel like I’ve become a more critical reader and ‘favorite book’ evaluator in 2019. Earning 5 stars was pretty hard in the Fangirl Fury book this year. At the same time, there are some 5 star books that I’ve read that aren’t exactly favorites of mine, and there are books that I didn’t give 5 stars that still stole my heart and became favorites.

newfireborder

81qTLTauYbLAmerican Royals by Katharine McGee

Katharine McGee’s American Royals was the Princess Diaries 2-like book I didn’t know I needed until upon reading. I’ve seriously fallen in love even more with this book in the months after I’ve finished. Set in a United States with a monarchy instead of a democracy, American Royals was the perfect blend of romance, politics, and family drama with such an addicting writing style.

 

71uhR9E2dnLSerious Moonlight by Jenn Bennett

If there’s one book on this list where I absolutely loved every element within, its Jenn Bennett’s Serious Moonlight. I definitely need to do a reread of all of Jenn Bennett’s YA books, but Serious Moonlight may just be my favorite book of hers! I related so much to the protagonist, Birdie, and I loved this book’s atmosphere and premise so much.

 

81WHkIj6+yLNinth House by Leigh Bardugo

Ninth House instantly become one of my favorite reads of 2019 as soon as I read its final sentence.  I read and love a lot of books, but something about that ending made me realize that it had been such a long time that I had ‘this feeling’ of loving a book so much immediately right after finishing it. Ninth House is such an incredible blend of fantasy and literary fiction. I’m so excited to see where this series goes.

 

41150487Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

The crowd favorite of the year, I loved Red, White & Royal Blue even before the hype really began. Like many of the books on this list, RWRB perfectly balanced all its elements, from political drama, family, friendship, and of course, the romance.

 

 

thegThe Goal (Off Campus #4) by Elle Kennedy

New adult (and adult) romance is for sure one way to label my 2019 reading year, much in part to Elle Kennedy’s Off-Campus series. I particularly fell hard for the last book in the series, The Goal. I read The Goal over the course of two sittings, in love with the two main character’s chemistry and overall story. And yes, my fictional crush on Tucker likely has something to do with my love for this installment.


81fibqn7f2lImprison the Sky
(The Elementae #2) by A.C. Gaughen

Imprison the Sky is such a fantastic follow-up novel to A.C. Gaughen’s Reign the Earth. I’m usually not a fan of pirate books or books set-at-sea, but Imprison the Sky completely changed that for me. I loved how it interwove elements and charatcers from book #1 while introducing us to a new cast. The world-building and twists constantly kept me on the edge of my seat. Although I’m so sad that there are currently no plans for books #3 and #4, I highly recommend picking up these books!

91mtMzHwLOLLovely War by Julie Berry

Julie Berry’s Lovely War is hands-down my favorite historical fiction read of the eyar. I didn’t read as much in the genre as I would have liked, but Lovely War easily made up for itself. Julie Berry’s writing style is absolutely beautiful. The book is narrated by Aphrodite and other Greek Gods, following four characters whose lives are interwoven with one another over the course of World War I.

 

Fountains of SilenceThe Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys

Keeping the historical fiction love going, my favorite historical fiction author, Ruta Septetys, came out with my and everyone else’s much anticipated book, The Fountains of Silence. Taking on a different time period and setting than her other books, Ruta Sepetys immerses readers in 1950s Spain and again tells an often uncovered and untold story set in that setting.

 

csCatwoman: Soulstealer by Sarah J. Maas

It’s not a Fangirl Fury reading year without reading at least one Sarah J. Mass book. I was a little hesitant going into Catwoman:Soulstealer because I really don’t have much knowledge about Catwoman or the DC world outside Wonder Woman and the other DC Icons books. However, much to her style, SJM completely blew me away with her take on Catwoman. Although I highly doubt it will ever happen, I would so love a follow-up sequel.

81hntMAQq6LThe Other’s Gold by Elizabeth Ames

I want to shove Elizabeth Ames’ The Other’s Gold into all of my bookish friends’ hands, particularly the ones who adore contemporary and literary fiction. The Other’s Gold deserves so much more hype, in thanks to Elizabeth Ames’ addicting storytelling. The book follows four college best friends and roommates throughout their college years and early adulthood, with a few mysteries and odd happenings involved.


51PEpjfmsLL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_There’s Something About Sweetie 
by Sandhya Menon

Sandhya Menon’s There’s Something About Sweetie is easily my new favorite book of hers! While set in the Rishi and Dimple universe, There’s Something About Sweetie is a story of its own, especially with a protagonist as strong as Sweetie. I really fell in love with third perspective narration this year, and Sandhya Menon completely owns the style with Ashish and Sweetie’s narration.


40087230._UY400_SS400_If I’m Being Honest
by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka

Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka’s If I’m Being Honest is the definition of fun YA contemporary. This book completely nails the unlikeable protagonist category, along with the Shakespeare retelling one, but the main protagonist, Cameron, also experiences so much growth and change.

 

91rMd4ffzqLComics Will Break Your Heart by Faith Erin Hicks

Faith Erin Hicks’ Comics Will Break Your Heart really spoke to my love for fandom and books that incorporate fandom. Comics Will Break Your Heart deserves so much hype and love, as it blends fandom with all the elements I love in YA contemporary.

 

 

criers warCrier’s War by Nina Varela

Contemporary once again defined my reading year, but the fantasy books that I did pick up completely blew me away, Nina Varela’s Crier’s War included. One of the best 2019 YA debuts, Crier’s War is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles.

 

 

511b2omc9-l._sx340_bo1,204,203,200_Renegades by Marissa Meyer

And speaking of Marissa Meyer, I also fell in love with the first book in her superhero inspired series, Renegades. Renegades features such a unique world and spin on the superhero genre. I still have the final book in the trilogy, Supernova, to enjoy for myself in 2020.

 

38244389A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

One of the most heart-breaking reads of my reading year, A Heart in a Body in the World features such beautiful writing and an even more important story. This book repeatedly bought tears to my eyes. 

 

 

smallheartcoverSmall Town Hearts by Lillie Vale

Another amazing 2019 debut, Lillie Vale’s Small Town Hearts was another fun read of mine in 2019. I love all the baking and food within this one, its beachy setting, and emphasis on relationship and character growth.

 

 


x510Unpregnant 
by Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan

Another unique and important read of 2019, Unpregnant is the funny YA abortion story (yes, I know what I just wrote) that every YA contemporary fan needs. Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan completely nail the humor in the right places in this book while also handling heavy and mature subject matter.

 


71tcAuFKRcLThe Bromance Book Club 
by Lyssa Kay Adams

I’ve been on a small new adult and adult contemporary kick -sports romance included- towards the end of 2019. My favorite has hands-down been Lyssa Kay Adams’ The Bromance Book Club! The Bromance Book Club completely delivers on its unique premise, falling in love with its story, romance, characters, and writing style.

I think my 2019 favorites list is a new blend of YA, new adult, and adult fiction. Since I leaned more towards new adult and adult towards the end of the year, I think I’ll be delving into these genres a lot more in 2020.

Honorable Mentions

Being the reader that I am, here are 14 more books in no particular order again that I absolutely loved and more in 2019:

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins (reread)

Girls With Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young

The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

Night Music by Jenn Marie Thorne

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Throne

The Rest of the Story by Sarah Dessen

The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey

The Grace Year by Kim Liggett

Lady Rogue by Jenn Bennett

Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell & Faith Erin Hicks

A Heart So Fierce and Broken (Cursebreakers #2)by Brigid Kemmerer

Intercepted by Alexa Martin

Maybe This Time by Kasie West

All American Muslim Girl by Nadine Jolie Courtney

newfireborder

As the year comes to a close, thank you so much for supporting Fangirl Fury in 2019. I hope you have a relaxing & joyful holiday season and a happy & healthy New Year. Here’s to reading ALL the amazing books in 2020!

What were some of your favorite 2019 reads? Any of the above? Share in the comments!

4 thoughts on “ARE THERE MORE THAN 19?: 19 Favorite 2019 Reads

  1. I read 18 of these, and I spy some of my faves too. American Royals gave me exactly what I have grown to expect from McGee, and that ending was all cinematic drama. I loved it! Jenn Bennett never disappoints. I need her books like air. RW&RB was great, and I keep planting the seed for there to be companions, because that friend group was stupendous. Menon, like Bennett, is another favorite of mine. Love all her books. I am in love with Wibberly & Siegemund-Broka. Their books are YA perfection for me. Bromance was so, so good, and I am chomping at the bit to start the next one. The Simple Wild knocked my socks off. Such an incredible and emotional journey. I even preordered the sequel, and I never do things like that. Thorne’s books were both wonderful, Dessen and West are all-time favorites of mine, and Martin has definitely earned her way onto my romance goto list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with all of your thoughts!! I really want to read McGee’s other series, and I wouldn’t be surprised if McQuiston’s third book is some sort of RWRB spin-off. So looking forward to what all of these authors have in store next year!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s