Thrills & Homework: Fall Reading Recommendations

Autumn calls for plenty of sweaters, pumpkin-spice treats, and ALL the books, as always. As many of you know, I’m a huge mood reader. However, when it comes my reading choices this season, I especially look for books that fall under three “categories”- thriller, mystery, and school. Today I’m going to be sharing my fall reading recs based on these categories, as well as some books that fall vibes on my TBR.

fallreadingrec.jpg

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis – A book that I read last fall, Mindy McGinnis’ The Female of the Species is an important YA read with dark, mystery vibes. The book provides much discussion on rape culture between its three teenage protagonists, especially Alex, who has revenge on her mind.

Finding Felicity by Stacey Kade – Readers who have just started school again themselves will appreciate this contemporary about college freshman Caroline and her love for the ‘90s TV show, Felicity. Finding Felicity honestly captures what it can be like adjusting to college and may inspire you to join a club or two at your own school.

Sadie by Courtney Summers –  The most talked about thriller of the season, Sadie deserves all the hype and more. Courtney Summers’ latest release is full of suspense and darkness, as title character Sadie will stop at nothing to avenge her sister’s death. I think readers who love Sadie or The Female of the Species and haven’t read the other will love both books.

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo – Jill Santopolo’s was a huge adult contemporary hit last year. Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Cecelia Ahern will really enjoy this book following college sweethearts Gabe and Lucy and their lives with and without each other. This book is a cozy read that will have you reaching for your favorite blanket and some hot chocolate (or pumpkin-spice drink of your choice).

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter – Krysten Ritter’s Bonfire was an unexpected favorite of 2017, but oh was I so obsessed with this mystery. Its story is complex and fast-paced, the perfect read for a rainy day.

The Thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle– Again following my back to school vibes (not to mention that the cover’s color scheme screams fall aesthetic to me), The Thing with Feathers begins at the start of a school year. This is the first book that I’ve read with an epileptic protagonist, and while it wasn’t my favorite, I enjoyed The Thing With Feathers for its focus on family and yes, Emilie’s dog is included in that.

Fall-ish TBR Books

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White – Everyone needs a good Halloween read. I’ve seen really positive reviews about this new, dark historical fiction read, and I’m excited to read my first book written by Kiersten White.

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden – After loving Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale, I am more than ready for her eerie middle grade tale.

The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas- I am determined to read a Kara Thomas book SOON, and while this author is known for all of her thrillers, I’m most intrigued by The Cheerleaders. I think this might be a book that keeps me up well into the night.

What are some of your fall reading recs? Any of the above? Share in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Thrills & Homework: Fall Reading Recommendations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s